One moment...

26 Teachers Selected as New Perspectives Fellows

Street Law, Inc.

Over 40 years of educating about law, democracy, and human rights

26 Teachers Selected as New Perspectives Fellows

After a highly competitive application process, Street Law has selected 26 teachers to participate as teacher fellows in the inaugural year of New Perspectives: Deep Understanding Through Deliberation.

Accepted teachers will spend the 2018–2019 school year learning to master the use of deliberative discussion to help people with different beliefs and backgrounds converse with one another about important issues in a civil and productive way.

The New Perspectives teacher fellows will travel to the Washington, DC, area in July to participate in a training institute with experts in the field. Upon returning home, the fellows will organize and facilitate four deliberations for students; two of the four deliberations will include adult members of the wider community deliberating with and alongside students.

2018–2019 Teacher Fellows

Denver, Colorado

  • Derrick Bergstrom, Campus Middle School

  • Lindsay Brown, Northglenn High School

  • Victoria Bull, Northglenn High School

  • Tammy Christensen, Mullen High School

  • Sarah Edson, Valor Christian High School

  • Mike Hamilton, Rangeview High School

  • Kelly Jones-Wagy, Overland High School

  • Tim Lorenz, Overland High School

  • Ann Putsche, Thornton High School

Omaha, Nebraska

  • Rhonda Betzold, Millard North High School

  • Rob Dittmer, Kanesville Alternative Learning Center

  • Randall Howard, Omaha Burke High School

  • Molly McVay, Omaha Central High School

  • Tracey Menten, Omaha Central High School

  • Rob Toth, Omaha North High Magnet School

  • Amy Tunning, Alice Buffett Magnet Middle School

  • Cory Vasek, Mary Our Queen School

District of Columbia

  • Jennifer Bach, Montgomery Blair High School

  • Cindy Burgett, Rachel Carson Middle School

  • David Cook, High Point High School

  • Jacob Goldberg, Northwestern High School

  • Alexander Livieratos, Hammond High School

  • Beth Seabreeze, Rockville High School

  • Sara Romeyn, Bullis School

  • Neha Singhal, John F. Kennedy High School

  • Mary Jane Williams, Loudoun Valley High School


For more information on this program, please contact Jen Wheeler, Director, Teacher Professional Development Programs & Curriculum.